All Archives / aussie-isp / 2004-06
<<< Date >>>
Permanent Link
Date: Tue, 1 Jun 2004 09:52:43 +1000
From: Garner Adam
To: isp-australia, Oz-ISP Mailing list
Message-Id: <9B8791613DA60A4C9C6464A36C1A88E2AA7F53@mail2.admin55.qld.gov.au>
Subject: [Oz-ISP] Fraudulent paralympic phishing scam
Followups:

<20040601101403.X98136@satin.sensation.net.au>
<p06110425bce2d8a5c604@[192.168.0.114]>
<6.0.3.0.0.20040601135632.01e47898@127.0.0.1>
<20040601065145.GB967@enc.com.au>


I received a very convincing email this morning, purportedly from
Westpac, raising money for the paralympic team in Athens.

It looks more convincing than any of the other schemes I've seen and use
escaped links (see below) to take you to a fraudulent site if you'd
prefer to send money via credit card instead of direct deposit (they do
provide bank account details).

The fraudulent link is
http://www.paralympic.org.au&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#3
2&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#3
2&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#3
2&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#3
2&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#3
2&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#3
2&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#3
2&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#3
2&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#3
2&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#3
2&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#3
2&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#32&#3
2 & # 3 2 & # 3 2 & # 3 2 & # 3 2 & # 3 2 & # 3 2 & # 3 2 & # 3 2 & # 3 2 & # 3 2 & # 3 2 & # 3 2 & # 3 2 @ & # 1 0 8 ; & # 1 0 5 ; & # 9 9
#101;&#110;&#116;&#97;&#46;&#99;&#111;&#109;&#47;&#104;&#111;&#109;&#101
;&#47;&#119;&#101;&#115;&#116;&#112;&#97;&#121;&#46;&#104;&#116;&#109;&#
108

Which ends up taking you to http://licenta.com/home/westpay.html.

The sending MTA was 203.101.2.45... I haven't checked where this is.

Thanks

Adam









----Please don't flame for disclaimer below----



----
email "unsubscribe aussie-isp" to m a j o r d o m o @ a u s s i e . n e t to be removed.

<<< Date >>>
This page was automatically generated, based on a complete record of postings made to the nominated list. Copyright issues, blame or gratitude belongs to the entity that wrote the content.