All Archives / aussie-isp / 2005-05
<<< Date >>>
Permanent Link
Date: Mon, 2 May 2005 08:32:07 +1000 (EST)
From: Rob Wise
To: Howard Lowndes
Cc: Mail List - Oz-ISP, Mail List LINK
Message-Id: <20050502081217.L56281@bozo.wonk.org>
In-Reply-To: <4274274B.5010403@lannet.com.au>
References: <4274274B.5010403@lannet.com.au>
Subject: Re: [Oz-ISP] Just out of curiosity...
Followups:

<427596F2.8060104@arduous.net>
<54a67a78e7198f62567ee8ab0f5ff585@zith.net>




On Sun, 1 May 2005, Howard Lowndes wrote:

> ...I decided to follow up some investigation on one of the myriad of spam
> emails which I (along with everyone else) receives.
>
> I thought the domain name (tnhoklsq.com) looked manufactured but I attempted
> to do a whois on it, and drew a blank at whois.internic.net. Normally when I
> do a whois it will take me off to the relevant registrar's whois database via
> whois-servers.net.  So it appears that this domain name is not in any
> registrar's database, well, none that are visible.

I can't find a handy link at this of the day, but the reason you're
seeing that is because VeriSign allows newly registered domains to be
added to the DNS almost immediately, but they are not added to the whois
data until the next scheduled update, which is likely several hours away.
This gives spammers the opportunity to use domains for several hours
before contact details become available.

Cheers,

Rob
----
email "unsubscribe aussie-isp" to m a j o r d o m o @ a u s s i e . n e t to be removed.

<<< Date >>>
This page was automatically generated, based on a complete record of postings made to the nominated list. Copyright issues, blame or gratitude belongs to the entity that wrote the content.