|
All Archives /
aussie-isp /
2005-06
|
<<< Date >>> | |
| Permanent Link | ||
|
Date: Sat, 11 Jun 2005 11:36:00 +1000
From: David Luyer To: Dave Walmsley, Oz-ISP Message-Id: <200506110137.j5B1b3EI030170@mailout2.pacific.net.au> In-Reply-To: <04e701c56e18$e64243a0$664ca8c0@D3TJQ71S> Subject: RE: [Oz-ISP] Helo Pacific |
Followups: <Pine.BSF.4.33.0506111840570.1517-100000@home.albury.net.au> |
|
> Hello Anyone at Pacific Internet (David L?).. Yes, I'm still here ... you could have emailed me directly, as I don't read much on mailing lists anymore. > WHY would your Mail scanner accept obviously forged email? > > Received: from hunterlink.net.au (62-90-163-109.barak.net.il > [62.90.163.109]) > by mailin2.pacific.net.au (8.13.4/8.13.4/Debian-1) with ESMTP id > j5AITlZr003570 > > From: s u p p o r t @ h u n t e r l i n k . n e t . a u For that part - very few mail servers enforce good data in the HELO/EHLO hostnames - is anyone here doing any kind of check on the HELO/EHLO hostnames? As to the 'from' addresses, i n f o @ { p i - d o m a i n s and some other similar addresses we never use are blocked as 'from' addresses via some sendmail.cf rules, but support@ is not on that list at this point - I'll discuss it with others here next week. > and say > > X-PacNet-AU-MailScanner-SpamCheck: not spam (whitelisted), Because that from address was whitelisted, I believe it is no longer used and can be un-whitelisted (and in fact fully blocked), but again I'll have to consult with people during the working week. Now, Dave -- WHY would you reveal one of our whitelist entries on an open mailing list, which will archive the address on the web, and only result in more spam using it as a 'from' address? David. ---- email "unsubscribe aussie-isp" to m a j o r d o m o @ a u s s i e . n e t to be removed. |
|